Meet VREPS Co-Chair Amy Lazet

Meet our new VREPS Co-Chair Amy Lazet. She has some blog posts planned on job search skills and interviewing, which is a great follow-up to our VREPS/ArLiSNAP session in Seattle, and especially good if you weren’t able to attend.

Amy

Here she is in her own words:

I earned a Bachelor’s in Art History and Visual Culture from Michigan State University and a Master of Science in Information from the University of Michigan. My senior thesis as an art history student was on Antoni Gaudi and the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. While at the University of Michigan, I served as Project Manager for the Prison Creative Arts Project’s Digital Image Archive, where I became very familiar with art produced by Michigan inmates. As Project Manager, I dealt with a wide range of issues including cataloging prison artworks; designing permission forms from artists—some of whom had been released and some of whom were still incarcerated—to publish their information and artwork online; digitizing and performing image editing on the artworks; and corresponding with the artists regarding their artwork and the database.

I am currently the Visual Resources Assistant at the College for Creative Studies in Detroit. My research interests are varied, but I am particularly interested in ethics, specifically in terms of image restoration and alteration. I recently wrote a paper on the various restorations of the movie Metropolis which is currently under review for publication (and I can talk about Metropolis all day).

I am extremely passionate about art: My favorite artists include Carel Fabritius, Rachel Ruysch, Shirin Neshat, Anselm Kiefer, Constantin Brancusi, and Rene Magritte. I love that I have the opportunity to continue learning about art at my job by researching a wide variety of artworks and artists. Working for an art school means that I deal with works by visual artists, illustrators, designers, advertisers, furniture makers, etc.

I have two cats, Anastasia and Beowulf. (I selected rather grandiose names for them, clearly.) I love mysteries and have all 80 of Agatha Christie’s suspense novels, and usually I am reading no less than 6-7 books at one time (mostly non-fiction).

Leave a Reply

